Wark/Kohen Awards

Nomination Deadline: May 7, 2023


Each year the Minnesota Society of Clinical Hypnosis presents two awards that honor two active MSCH members who have made outstanding commitments to our organization.

David M. Wark, Ph.D. Outstanding Teacher Award
This award recognizes excellence in teaching, advising, program innovation and development, and educational leadership.

Daniel P. Kohen, M.D. Outstanding Clinician Award
This award recognizes outstanding leadership in the clinical practice, teaching, and utilization of therapeutic hypnosis.


Each award recipient must:

  • be a current member of MSCH,
  • demonstrate a strong commitment to the service of our organization,
  • actively participate in MSCH activities.

Award Presentation

Awards will be presented during lunch at the annual MSCH workshop in June.

How to Nominate

Any MSCH member with knowledge of an outstanding teacher or clinician can make a nomination by completing the form below or writing a brief letter and submitting it to the President of our organization. All nominations must be received by May 7, 2023

    My Nomination for the David Wark Award

    Reasons for nomination

    My Nomination for the Daniel Kohen Award

    Reasons for nomination

    Your Name

    Your Email

    Past Award Winners

    YearWark Award WinnerKohen Award Winner
    2022Cheryl Bemel, PhD, LPNot Awarded
    2021Heather Klein, PhD, LPNot Awarded
    2020Not AwardedNot Awarded
    2019Gregory Heberlein, MA, LPJennifer Stoos, MS, LMFT
    2018Not AwardedGlenn Frisch, DC
    2017Delle Jacobs, MSW, LICSWRichard Duus, PhD, LP
    2016Michael LaCrosse, PhDAlfred Clavel, Jr., MD
    2015Peggy Trezona, MS, RN, CSAndrew J. Barnes, MD, MPH
    2014Denise D’Aurora MEd, LPWendy Lemke MS, LP
    2013Kate Pfaffinger PhD, LPTeena Moy PhD, LP
    2012Richard Studer MA, LMFT, LT, LICSWNot Awarded
    2011Beverly Caruso MSWSuzanne Candell PhD, LP
    2010Not AwardedNot Awarded
    2009Jack S. Rusinoff MAKevin Harrington PhD
    2008John Sowada MA, LPEwa Peczalska PhD, LP
    2007David Alter PhDJean Manlove ACSW, LICSW
    2006Mark B. Wiesberg PhD, ABPPHelen C. Paul PhD
    2005Roni J. Ahern MA, LPRalph E. McKinney PhD
    2004David M. Wark PhDDaniel P. Kohen MD